Young talent given opportunity in India training camp

The qualification of Afghanistan for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 has led to the selection committee to plan ahead for the game’s biggest event in England & Wales next year. A lengthy camp will be organised in India to prepare a competent team for upcoming matches, including the series against Bangladesh and the inaugural test match against India in June. Besides current members of the National Team, Afghanistan U19 players and top performers in domestic cricket competitions will also take part in the camp.

The players will train under the guidance of Head Coach, Phil Simmons, and other coaching staff who will evaluate the performance of the players in the camp at the end of which some of them will be given the opportunity to represent Afghanistan at elite level. The key areas of focus will be to develop seamers, opening batsmen, middle order batsmen and wicket keepers.

Haji Wali Amin, member of the selection committee is hopeful that the training camp will be beneficial to upgrade the skills and competencies of the players. Former captain and current Chief selector, Nawroz Mangal, announced the first group of players sent to India for two weeks that includes various members of the U19 team who made it to the semi-final stage of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018 in New Zealand. This will follow anther two group that will travel to India at a later stage.

  • First Group: Wafadar Momand, Yousuf Zazai, Naveen ul Haq, Azmatullah Omarzai, Sayed Sherzad, Yameen Ahmadzai, Nejat Masood, Nawaz Khan, Darwish Rasooli, Younus Ahmadzai, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shahid Mandozi, Bahir Shah Mahbob, Ikram Alikhel, Zia-ur-Rahman, Waqar Salamkhel, Fazal Haq, Zia-ul-Haq, Rahmatullah Sahak and Mohammad Shahzad will travel after two days.


  • Second group: Aftab Alam, Farid Malek, Dawlat Zadran, Ihsanullah Janat, Javed Ahmadi, Nasir Jamal, Afsar Zazai, Asghar Stanikzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Amir Hamza, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Najeeb Tarakai, Usman Ghani, Hazratullah Zazai and Noor Ali Zadran.


  • Third Group: Karim Janat, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Shapoor Zadran, Gulbadin Naib and Samiullah Shinwari.